Yankees legend DEREK JETER did NOT become the second person after MARIANO RIVERA to be a unanimous pick for the Baseball Hall of Fame . . . because ONE person didn’t vote for him.

Jeter was on 396 of the 397 ballots cast by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.  It’s unclear who didn’t vote for him.

Still, Jeter got 99.7% of the vote, which is the second biggest percentage after Rivera.  KEN GRIFFEY JR. is now third.  He got 99.3%.

The only other player to get enough votes was LARRY WALKER, who FINALLY made it in his last year of eligibility.  He played outfield for the Expos, Rockies, and Cardinals.

Those who DIDN’T make the cut include:  Curt ShillingRoger ClemensBarry Bonds, and Omar Vizquel.

Jeter and Walker will be inducted on July 26th at the Hall in Cooperstown, New York.  They’ll join catcher Ted Simmons and former players’ association head Marvin Miller, who were voted in last month by the Hall’s Modern Era Committee.